Master Lease opportunity

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • I found a house where I would like to propose to the owner a Master Lease.

I’ve never done one of these before, so I could use some guidance.

The owner just moved to a new home and has never before had a rental property. His contractor is acting as his tenant “screener”, and so far they’ve had inquiries from people with large families and pit bulls. Not what he was hoping for in a tenant.

1. Do I offer a monthly payment amount with a long term lease? If the owner is asking for $770/mth from a tenant, how much should I offer to pay as a Master tenant?

2. How long of a term do I suggest? two years with one year options thereafter? Something else?

3. Do I ask for a Purchase Option with the Master Lease? I’ve often heard it’s common to pay 10% over market price for a Lease Option, but that was before the current market conditions. Any suggestions?

Thanks so much for your help!

The great thing about the master lease with option is you can control the cash flow and future profit without being the owner of record and eliminating risk. Deal with only good quality pretty houses as they will rent faster and have less maintenance. The master lease is in the position of lets say a middle man, clearing house or coordinator between the owner and the sub tenant.