Rent Increases on Long Term Rental

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • I?m negotiating the purchase of a single family property with a seller who has some unusual circumstances that has them preferring to be a tenant. I?ve long had a policy against these leaseback deals but I?m a pretty experienced investor and believe that this deal is a true and acceptable exception to the rule and I have created about 10 pages of CYA that I believe will reasonably cover the risks. This isn?t a foreclosure (the property is f&c) and they are not even remotely contemplating bankruptcy.

Here?s my problem and an area I have no good experience in. They want the equivalent of a long term lease (I still have to check the laws, if any, of my state regarding them). Subject to anything I discover under the law that would prevent this, I?m prepared to give them a conditional option to extend the lease annually for 19 renewals (conditional upon them not being in breach, etc.) or something akin to that but I haven?t yet come up with a fair way to determine rent increases over those years. They know they will have rent increases every year and they understand why they are necessary but I?ve told them it will take me a few days to come up with something equitable.

My initial thought was to apply against the then current rent some fixed percentage or the CPI, whichever is higher at the time of the increase, but I?m not sure what the % should be and ? in particular – I?m reasonably certain that neither of those percentages will cover all the rental upside that certain rental market conditions may allow and certain economic conditions may demand. 20 years is a long time and lots can happen.

I?m open to all ideas. Thanks for the assistance.

Just a thought, put a max per year such as not to excede 10% in any 12 month period.

Don Wede

Thanks for input, Don.

Anonymous