Paperwork confusion on HBS

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • I have a buyer that has agreed to a HBS but I am unclear on the paperwork.

My attorney is wanting to review the docs and I don’t have them. I am not going to do a double close on this one as the spread is not that big. I think my option price is going to be $370k and it is a $420k retail and closing costs are so high here that a double close doesn’t make sense.

As I understand it-

I will do an Option for $370k.
    Run the HBS.
    Once the Highest Bidder is identified, my Seller will contract directly with new buyer.

My attorney thinks I am opening myself up to getting screwed by seller and suggested I do it as a listing. I am a licensed broker here, but I don’t want to put on the MLS (and the seller doesn’t want it on the MLS.) And I am prohibited from doing a “Net Listing” anyway.

What is the mechanism for protecting my interests and also getting paid? Options, contracts, etc. without an attorney here is frowned upon.

What am I missing here?

Anyone with knowledge about the paperwork have any input?

Thanks for your help!

Rene

Hi rene: I would be interested in helping you with your HBS sale if you let us know which state you are located in? I am in California presently and wish to learn more about this program too. Let me know if I can assist in any way.

thanks
    abe eiland

Rene,
    I believe the best way to do it get an option from the home seller. Do it in a business name or your name and disclose you are a broker but are doing this for your personal business. Spell out in your option what your strike price price is. There is not much spread there your selling for almost of 90% of fair market value. Are you in a supper hot go go market where everything is selling fast and for full retail?
    Don Wede