Rehabbing Seller's Property

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • In a local Facebook group that I am a member of, this question was posted:

I’m contemplating an equity partnership with a seller (i.e. I would handle the remodel, list the house, and then split the profits with him rather than buying the house from him myself), but I haven’t done that before. Anybody have experience with this kind of partnership, or advice on a legal structure/document that can be used to protect all parties in this situation? I’m a REALTOR so that factors in as well.

I answered, but the consensus answer went a different direction. Curious to know what your opinions are.

Hi Bill
    If it was me I would take a possion in the property with an option. For sure then record a mtg of option.

That was how I proposed it. Get an option, record it, and have the documents necessary to convey the deed held in escrow. They are suggesting they wouldn’t do such a deal without having the deed in hand. My first thought on that was that it could be difficult to have the seller agree to deed over their property prior to selling. They also feel like the seller would sue if they changed their mind about the profit.

People in Austin seem very concerned with lawsuits. This particular group is sponsored by an attorney, so the legal side of things seems to be overly focused on. I recall Jack Miller and John Schaub always setting themselves up to avoid lawsuits through crafting documents or just reading people and figuring out who you do deals with.

I feel like there are many ways to do deals. Who cares who’s right as long as the problem is solved to everyone’s satisfaction?

Bill,

As a Realtor, you have to disclose you are a principal and not a fiduciary to the owner.
    ie. = NO LISTING on the buy side.

Wearing 2 hats gets you into trouble.