tools

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Jackie states that she uses various strategies (tools) in her bag for RE investing.
    We all understand that this is wise due to the fact that some things may not work for all people all the time. As some of you may know I am also a professional photographer and have many different cameras an lenses. There are however, one or two main cameras and lens that I use for most of my work. So in return, I wanted to know what are your most widely used “tools” when it comes to RE. Thanks for sharing.:)

The tools are used to achieve an objective — So a good question to ask would be what do you want to accomplish by using a specific tool. Then is the tool legal in the state where you live. If not, what is a good alternative.

My top 4 – in no particular order

wholesale deals (options) = fast cash
    buying subject to that wraps underlying loan = acquire rentals for cash flow
    buying with seller financing – acquire rentals for cash flow
    highest bidder sales (options) – fast cash and cash flow

Things I avoid totally

rehabs – too much work, too much risk, too much cash needed
    buying at foreclosure auctions – too much competition

Things I would do it I were starting all over again – I’d never own the house, instead

master leases for cash flow & get an option when I could
    wholesale deals – cash
    highest bidder sales for cash and cash flow

After being in this business for almost 20 years the one thing I realize most is that owning real estate is not necessary at all.
    It’s much better to just control it with an option and a lease. You can build wealth with options just as easily as building wealth with ownership.

You really need to learn everything you can about options!!!! It is the most powerful tool in your tool box.

other things I would avoid completely:

anything that is on a public list advertised for sale

MLS listings
    tax sales