Use option to invest in pre-foreclosures?

Posted in Options

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

I am pretty new to options and real estate investing in general. I was starting with pre-foreclosure leads and talked to a few homeowners whose houses were going to auction soon. Most of them want to stay instead of selling the house. In this type of scenario, would it be a good idea to give the homeowner some money to cure the default and get an option to buy the house in the future?

For example, if a house is of ARV 300k, but needs 60k in rehab, with 10k in behind payment, would it be a good idea if I give the homeowner 10k option consideration so he/she can cure the default, and I get an option to buy the house for 200k after 5 years, or in another timeframe when the homeowner would like to sell? The problems I can think of include, what if the homeowner is in default again before my option can purchase the house ( I guess in this scenario I can cure the default again as a party that has an interest in the property but I do not know the details on how this is done and the risks involved), also what if the homeowner gets a judgment against the property or file bankruptcy, would it jeopardize my option, and what if the market drops a lot when the time window in which I can exercise my options comes?

I’d love to hear your opinions on how to structure deals with pre-foreclosure properties. My market is very competitive, and investors are offering insane prices for properties in pre-foreclosure, sometimes people are offering close to ARV while the property needs 60k plus in rehab, I seriously do not understand how they can make the deal work. I am trying to figure out how I can creatively structure my offer to be competitive instead of bidding insane prices.

Thanks so much for your help! Any recommendations/suggestions appreciated.

Sophie

HI Sophie

Welcome to CashFlowDepot!