Using Options to flip land?

Posted in Options

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 28 total)
  • Hi everyone! I’m beginning to get more into flipping land.

I’ve been wholesaling houses for a few years but find the competition intense now in S. Florida.

I am venturing into land in other parts of Florida and already have a lot of leads.

I was thinking, does it make sense to buy myself 4-6 months by putting down a few hundred bucks and securing my price on the land with an Option?

“Mr Seller, here’s $500. Can you give me an Option for 5 months to buy this land for $15k? I need to get some answers from the city regarding permitting and secure my financing partner.”

I then use that time to find my buyer and flip them the Option for $25k. I make $10k.

Thoughts? Thanks!

William,

Yes, you can do this.

Two ways to exit this:

One, you can assign your option to your option buyer and then your option buyer exercises the option and buys the land.

Two, you exercise the option and buy the land, then sell the land to your buyer.

Bill Cook
    770-815-8727

If closing was delayed for a year would you novate the option? I ask because there would be a non-performance/abandonment risk for the investor if the option buyer did not close.

Thanks Bill. Any additional tax considerations if I close on it, instead of assign the Option?

Johnathan,

Our options are secured to properties via a Deed of Trust or Mortgage. The option gives me (or my assigns) the right to exercise the option and buy the property within a specified period of time.

Kim and I just bought a 50-year option on a trailer park. Anytime within the next 50 years we (or our assigns) have the right to buy a 10% interest in the property. If/When we decided to exercise, we notified the Optionor and schedule closing.

Pretty straight forward.

Bill Cook
    770-815-8727