Delinquent property taxes

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Has anyone bought a property due to the current owners delinquent property taxes? I’m located in Wisconsin. Thanks.

Hi Nickolas,

I am a Realtor/investor in Mississippi interested in delinquent property taxes. I have worked a little with people who purchase delinquent taxes at the tax sale. They typically purchase for the interest paid by the property owner when they redeem the taxes. Every year, our county will send a list of not redeemed properties. The Secretary of State website had some basic information on the process. Liz Corkren

I bought a house in November of last year, 2021, that was posted for a property tax sale auction. I just bought a condo/townhouse yesterday, also posted for a tax sale auction. The first sale closed a day before the auction, and the 2nd closed 2 biz days before the auction date.

I find that just because someone owes past due property taxes, they don’t necessarily want to, or are mentally ready to sell. The local tax office might have payment plans available for the property owners and have a fare degree of leniency before they get serious and post the house for an auction. Around here I’ve seen the county wait for a year or two after they obtained a court judgment, and before they finally put the property up for an auction.

I should also mention that both properties were un-probated estates. I.e., I bought them from children of the deceased owners. One of them had a large state lien against the estate that I had to negotiate down to make the deal work. In other words, unless there are complications, it’s hard to stand out of the crown of other investors who are chasing after the same folks whose properties are publicly posted for an auction sale.